• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DaemonAssassin

Why should we Free BSD?
    Jun 14, 2012
    Political refugee in WV
    I'm a noob. I'm doing my reading trying to figure out this reloading thing but in the meantime, I need to finish getting all the gear. I will be reloading (at least) 9mm, .45, 5.56 and .308.

So far I have this: http://palmettostatearmory.com/index.php/rcbs-rc-supreme-master-kit-9361.html

I know that I still need dies, calipers, case timmer and a way to clean brass (thanks stu929).

For a tumbler, I was looking at this: http://www.cabelas.com/catalog/prod...roduct.jsp%3FproductId%3D731769&WTz_l=Product Any thoughts?

I found a bench at Harbor Freight that I will probably use.

How about the rest of the stuff? Any brands recommended over others? Best places to shop for reloading supplies?

I was hoping there would be a sticky in this section to get noobs up and running. If any of the experienced reloaders wanted to take that on, I think it would be a great resource :innocent0

ETA: I saw the Dillon thread that is stickied, but something more general and not geared just towards getting a Dillon up and running is what I was hoping for.

Due to the calibers you listed, I recommend that instead of going with a single stage that you go with a turret, or better yet a progressive press.

You can run the 550 as a single stage if you want to, I do when making 308 match loads.

As for taking a crack at making a new sticky, I'll start work on it this afternoon/evening. Just like my last mega post, If I forget something, I'll give credit to those who remind/inform me where I missed something.

Mental list to start...

Press (or kit)
    Dies
    Powder thrower
    Scale
    Tumbler
    Brass trays
    Boxes (completed rounds)
    Labels
    Books
    Bullet puller

I'm sure I'll think of other stuff.