• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dan

Jun 14, 2012
    Calvert
    Hey guys I'm new to handgun shooting. Recently acquired my first handgun a few months ago, Bersa Thunder Ultra Compact in 9mm. It's been fun to shoot but lately I've had some jamming issues, stovepiping that is, particularly when I use 9mm Nato. Am I just limpwristing it or is this an ammo / gun issue?

TheSPkid

Sep 24, 2008
    Severna Park
    Hey guys I'm new to handgun shooting. Recently acquired my first handgun a few months ago, Bersa Thunder Ultra Compact in 9mm. It's been fun to shoot but lately I've had some jamming issues, stovepiping that is, particularly when I use 9mm Nato. Am I just limpwristing it or is this an ammo / gun issue?

Could be any of the three. I'd first start off by switching the ammo. I have a Kahr that won't feed fiocchi but has no troubles with anything else.

StantonCree

Watch your beer
    Jan 23, 2011
    I mean there are 500 reasons a gun could do this but my guess would be the fact that you have a compact that operates on a blowback design. You'll get rid of that within a year and buy a glock.

Did you buy the gun new? I ask because it could be an extractor issue.

As for your rounds being hot, I don't think that's the case.

mikec

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2007
    Off I-83
    Yeah it seems to have no problem with regular luger fmj. Is 9mm Nato loaded hot or something?

The 9mm NATO spec is about 2,400PSI higher than standard 9mm pressures. A calculator says that the NATO ammo is 1.07x times hotter but how does that match up with gun abuse, I can't say. 9mm +p specs are hotter than the NATO specs.

Some guns shouldn't be run with hotter ammo. Some guns may need recoil springs replaced more often if you are pushing the gun.