• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • James04

Mar 27, 2013
    I am new to reloading like many others. I have been playing around with my press for the past month and I am finally feeling ready to start producing some rounds.

One of my concerns, I have noticed that my 45acp brass measures from
    .886 to .891

the lyman book lists my TTL as .888 and my OAL to 1.235

I have read threads that say I do not need to trim and to just use the brass. The lyman book also says to only trim when necessary. If i do not trim to .888 how do i keep a consistent OAL of 1.235 ?

If i do not trim the round, when I seat the bullet it will be at different depths and could this increase the internal pressures?

If i do trim to .888 will this affect the headspace of the round since the 45acp headspaces on the mouth?

concern 2- The Lyman book says never to crimp the 45acp. It says to taper if needed that would be a separate die. Do I actually need to taper this round or will I be fine just seating it with my Hornady 3 piece die kit?

These rounds will be shot through a springfield xd45

Thanks, James

TTL= .888
    OAL=1.235
    200gr #2 alloy cast round
    WST 4.6 grains

noylj

Jun 3, 2012
    OAL (overall length) can just refer to the length of the case or the bullet or the press or your height or anything.
    Do you mean COL (cartridge overall length)? What part of that is based on the case length? As long as the case is long enough to seat the bullet, then the distance from the bullet (meplat or datum of the ogive) to the case head is NOT affected by the case length.