• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bohman

May 20, 2012
    St. Mary's
    Ok, this may be a really dumb question but I'm a noob so I'll just ask it. That's what I'm here for, I guess. :) I just bought a box of Hornady .30-30 ballistic tip (flex tip) ammo for a Winchester 94. These are ok to load in the tube mag, right?

Rem700fan

Ammo Disposal Expert
    Jul 11, 2012
    Eastern Panhandle, WV
    The hornaday leverlution(spelling?)are the ONLY pointed bullets you should use in a rifle with a tubular magazine. Using any pointed hard nose bullet you risk detonating the other cartridges in the magazine from the point of one bullet resting on the primer of the one in front of it. Flat nose bullets or the hornaday bullet in the above link are the only bullets for tube mags. However if you use it as single shot any bullet can be used.

Deep Creek Rock

.._. .._ _._. _._ .._
    If its a flex tip (has a soft spongy tip)which is made by Hornady - then it is ok to use them in a tube fed. The flex tip was designed for that use. If its a genuine poly carbonate Ballistic Tip, as made by Nosler, I would not use them in a tube fed gun - as there is a chance of a chain fire.

The flex tips should flatten, and reshape if you push the tip on a hard surface like a table.

BFMIN

Ultimate Member
    Nov 5, 2010
    Eastern shore
    You have flex tip (soft) which are fine, not Ballistic tip (hard) which aren't. As long as you don't confuse the two you'll be fine.

cantstop

Pentultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Aug 10, 2012
    MD
    I, too, have been looking at the Hornady LEVERevelotion for their flat trajectory out to 200 yds. Here is Hornady's product page:
    http://www.hornady.com/store/30-30-Win-140-gr-monoflex-Leverevolution/