Go Back   Maryland Shooters > The Arsenal > Curio and Relic (C&R)

Join MD Shooters

Old August 15th, 2011, 08:00 AM #1

7.62X25 Bulgarian Ammo Warning

Not sure how valid the warning is about the Bulgarian Tokarev Ammo being dangerous but I had heard that warning more than once.

I ran across this warning again on AmmoGuide which included a Photo of the Box and I believe the Headstamp.

I have not personally used any of this Ammo so I can't speak from experience but thought it was in the best interest of any of our members who may have any of this ammo to make them aware of the reported danger.

With the shortage of 7.62X25 Ammo I have noticed several brands of Ammo being offered on GunBroker and others. (at outrageous prices from six Months Back)

If you should see any Bulgarian offered I would stay away from it. but it's your choice. Like I say I have no personal experience with bad Toke Ammo, with exception to the cracked neck Polish which I shoot with some reluctance. With all the problems with surplus 7.62X25 I've set up my LEE to reload that cal.

In checking Gunbroker I found five seperate Auctions for Bulgarian Ammo.

http://ammoguide.com/cgi-bin/myag.cgi?sn=BNprrsCfnJ&cky=

"...Ammunition-test results... indicate the sample ammo in question generated an AVERAGE of 46,000 cup..."
Attached Images

Last edited by edhallor; August 15th, 2011 at 08:35 AM. Reason: Addition Info on Gunbroker added
edhallor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2011, 02:24 PM #2
Retired C&R Addict

Retired C&R Addict

i cant get in the website, what exactly is the warning for? We all know Tok is a pretty high powered round.

“A citizen may not be required to offer a ‘good and substantial reason’ why he should be permitted to exercise his rights.
The right’s existence is all the reason he needs.”
—Federal Judge Benson Everett Legg
yellowsled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2011, 03:04 PM #3