• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ToolAA

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jun 17, 2016
    God's Country
    I'm also fairly new to MdShooters and before I start I want to say thanks to everyone here who takes the time to help those of us with less experience. I'm a firm believer in contributing to communities where I can. Hopefully newbies researching a new spotting scope purchase will find this information useful.

I am getting into shooting and recently picked up my first AR. My goal is to start working my way into amateur high power rifle competitions with my club.

I realized that I need a spotting scope and began looking for something cost effective that would work at 200+ yds. I didn't want to spend a ton of money because I just dropped $600 on Form 1 apps.

So after a visit to Bass Pro I came home with a Pursuit X-1 for $200.

c7ec3ebc693cbbae4a1e8e4c92abca4b.jpg

http://m.basspro.com/Pursuit-X1-Compact-Spotting-Scope/product/1205040859416/

I don't really have anything to compare it to but it worked OK. Like others noted the cheap compact tripod is basically useless. I has expected to pickup a better compact tripod. I ended up with one of these for $25.

464d90db0d38e63a2dd613c0557c5886.png

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MT0SKAQ/ref=cm_sw_r_oth_api_5UHKxb6PS9AH8

As expected it was a huge improvement over the compact unit but still the head was very wobbly. I took the whole thing apart and tightened up all of the screws. Added a few O-rings. Better still, but not good enough. The main problem was the plastic adaptor for the tilt/pan/swivel head was just too thin and flimsy.

I ordered a precision tilt/pan head used for Astronomy telescopes for $42

583b4593f5e4ed27e3cfb330bac7d18f.png

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000XMV86/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_c_api_D4HKxbCC0X065