• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • antco

Ultimate Member
    Apr 28, 2010
    Calvert, MD
    I’ve been removing trees from my property for the last six months, and I have zero need for any of this wood. Outside of craigslist or illegal dumping, what is the most economical or maybe even profitable way to get rid of entire trees of oak, hickory, and maple? The Calvert Co landfill wants $72/ton which has me wondering what the pro tree companies do with the logs, branches and sticks they’re producing. I’m sure someone is willing to buy this wood I’m generating and turn it into firewood.

I’ve found a few places that appear to be recyclers in the manner that they take wood and turn it into firewood, wood chips for bio-mass boilers, or potentially into wood pellets. I have yet to call any of these folks though. I wanted to check the information database here first.

So MDS: What’s our there that will take my hardwood for free, or pay me for it? Or charge me less than $72/ton?

Buster Brown

Aug 11, 2019
    Southern MD
    Im definitely in need for some firewood. Im sure theres other members on here that would be willing to take some as well. Hardwoods are easy to get rid of, especially this time of year.

antco

Ultimate Member
    Apr 28, 2010
    Calvert, MD
    Im definitely in need for some firewood. Im sure theres other members on here that would be willing to take some as well. Hardwoods are easy to get rid of, especially this time of year.

Unfortunately this wood has been cut for less than two months, and was very much alive and healthy right up to that point. It’s no good for this winters heating season.

antco

Ultimate Member
    Apr 28, 2010
    Calvert, MD