• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Feb 17, 2017
    Hey All,

I'm a relative newbie trying educate myself as much as possible.
    I have completed my HQL, recieved additional training and been trying a tremendous amount of different fireams for home defense. I have mapped out my residence for possible points of enrtry and potencial distances to BG's and most importanty identifed my backstops.

So...My question is more a legal one. While I could just ask a lawyer lol, I thought I would ask you nice folks here first.
    Without starting a discussion on why, I have chosen the SW Governor for the upstairs portion of my home and a SW M&P2.0 9mm for my main floor. (I live in a end-unit townhome w/ one common wall in a dense subdivision).

In regards to the Governor, my thought is to alternate rounds. First round of #4 shot or PDX-1 and then have 45 Long Colts. Thinking the first shot is for coverage/accuracy/warning and then the 45LC's if the threat(s) keep coming.

Being in Maryland I'm wondering if pre-loading my firearm in this manner opens up addtional scrutiny from prosecutors in the case I need to protect myself/family from deadly force.

This question also applies if I wanted to use other types of ammo like the RIP rounds etc...

TY in advance...

Last edited:

Lumber

Feb 3, 2017
    Carroll County
    I wouldn't worry about lawyers.
    That being said I would only stick to either 410 slugs/buckshot or 45 lc. I wouldn't even consider putting any type of shot in there. I'm not planning on a "warning shot." If i feel threatened enough to use my firearm I'm going to use it. I'm not going to fire a warning shot to see if they're serious about harming me as Ive already decided they are by pulling the trigger.

MikeTF