• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Steve57

Aug 20, 2018
    Hi All,

I am just getting into shooting with my first rifle (rem 700 in 308 Winchester), and have had some trouble staring to shoot accurately. The range which I frequent only offers bench shooting positions (to my knowledge), and while attempting to zero my scope, the groups that I have been shooting have been rather wide, even though I have a consistent point of aim.

This may be because every time I pull the trigger, I end up jerking back along with the rifle (I would postulate due to bad recoil management). Could some experienced shooters possibly provide some tips on any magical body/hand/head/rifle positioning or easily-available equipment that would help me control the rifle more effectively? (I am assuming that the problem mainly lays in technique, and not my relatively-average upper-body-strength or body mass.)

Thanks,
    Steve

fidelity

piled higher and deeper
    MDS Supporter
    Aug 15, 2012
    Frederick County
    I'm no expert, but when I had a Remington 700 in 308 with a bipod and Nikon Monarch 4-16x glass (I still have this scope), with good factory ammo, I could pretty consistently get sub MOA groups at 100 yards. I was new to bolt 308 rifles (or any semi powerful centerfire rifle round), and just assumed that this was typical. Maybe I should have kept the rifle, but I wanted something lighter.

My initial questions would be ...

1) what are you using for a front rest? I see accuracy drops when I use a block or something smooth and solid vs a front bag or a bipod.

2) how's your scope mounted, and are you able to rule out a possible problem with the scope or mount by testing on another platform?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Pensfaninmd

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 28, 2010