Go Back   Maryland Shooters > General > Jobs Board
Don't Have An Account? Register Here

Join MD Shooters
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 30th, 2011, 02:06 PM #1
mdjamesd mdjamesd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Towson
Posts: 1,711
mdjamesd mdjamesd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Towson
Posts: 1,711
windows 64 bit to 32 bit

Does anyone know how to make windows 7, 64 bit run in 32 bit mode? Having computer issues at work......soooo much fun
__________________
..man is not free unless government is limited.

As government expands, liberty contracts....Ronald Reagan

Quote:
Originally Posted by clandestine View Post
My butt does not close its open like 7-11
mdjamesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 02:09 PM #2
Inigoes's Avatar
Inigoes Inigoes is offline
Head'n for the hills
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoMD / West PA
Posts: 41,433
Inigoes Inigoes is offline
Head'n for the hills
Inigoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoMD / West PA
Posts: 41,433
I have messed with Windows7 yet, but here is a quick google find:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx
__________________
Life is tough, life is tougher when you are stupid.
Inigoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 02:11 PM #3
Zombie_013 Zombie_013 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,888
Zombie_013 Zombie_013 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,888
I thought it was program-based, meaning that you can have both 32 bit and 64 bit applications installed.
Zombie_013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 02:15 PM #4
Dogabutila Dogabutila is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,290
Dogabutila Dogabutila is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,290
32 bit programs should run in 64 bit windows unless it is terribly terribly written.

for these programs sometimes you need to right click --> properties --> compatability mode.
Dogabutila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 02:18 PM #5
Inigoes's Avatar
Inigoes Inigoes is offline
Head'n for the hills
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoMD / West PA
Posts: 41,433
Inigoes Inigoes is offline
Head'n for the hills
Inigoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoMD / West PA
Posts: 41,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogabutila View Post
32 bit programs should run in 64 bit windows unless it is terribly terribly written.

for these programs sometimes you need to right click --> properties --> compatability mode.
One thing I do know: when running 32 bit programs on a 64 bit machine. The parentheses "Program Files (x86)" wreak havoc on the program calls. If you reinstall the software in a "Program Files [x86]" directory, everything works normally.
__________________
Life is tough, life is tougher when you are stupid.
Inigoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 02:40 PM #6
mdjamesd mdjamesd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Towson
Posts: 1,711
mdjamesd mdjamesd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Towson
Posts: 1,711
The main problem.is in running a Seiko colorpainter 64s and a HP 9000s printer.
__________________
..man is not free unless government is limited.

As government expands, liberty contracts....Ronald Reagan

Quote:
Originally Posted by clandestine View Post
My butt does not close its open like 7-11
mdjamesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 03:12 PM #7
DZ's Avatar
DZ DZ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mount Airy, MD
Posts: 3,906
DZ DZ is offline
Senior Member
DZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mount Airy, MD
Posts: 3,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inigoes View Post
One thing I do know: when running 32 bit programs on a 64 bit machine. The parentheses "Program Files (x86)" wreak havoc on the program calls. If you reinstall the software in a "Program Files [x86]" directory, everything works normally.
Can you explain a little more about what that means? Not a computer guy, but trying to pay a little more attention.
__________________
+Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances

+A well regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the People to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.
DZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 03:16 PM #8
Hart-Attack's Avatar
Hart-Attack Hart-Attack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fallston, MD
Posts: 227
Send a message via MSN to Hart-Attack
Hart-Attack Hart-Attack is offline
Member
Hart-Attack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fallston, MD
Posts: 227
Send a message via MSN to Hart-Attack
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdjamesd View Post
The main problem.is in running a Seiko colorpainter 64s and a HP 9000s printer.
check the mfr's website for updated 64-bit drivers
Hart-Attack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 03:28 PM #9
Inigoes's Avatar
Inigoes Inigoes is offline
Head'n for the hills
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoMD / West PA
Posts: 41,433
Inigoes Inigoes is offline
Head'n for the hills
Inigoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoMD / West PA
Posts: 41,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by DZ View Post
Can you explain a little more about what that means? Not a computer guy, but trying to pay a little more attention.
Here you go:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4...nd-parenthesis

better than I could explain it.

The problem lies with the OS trying to interpret variables, it's been a hidden security feature in MS 64-bit OS to keep programs from executing. lol
__________________
Life is tough, life is tougher when you are stupid.
Inigoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 04:31 PM #10
MDFF2008's Avatar
MDFF2008 MDFF2008 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22,910
Images: 4
MDFF2008 MDFF2008 is offline
Senior Member
MDFF2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22,910
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdjamesd View Post
Does anyone know how to make windows 7, 64 bit run in 32 bit mode? Having computer issues at work......soooo much fun
There are plenty of ways to do it, but I have a feeling your actually dealing with drivers.

32 bit programs will usually work on 64bit windows, 32 bit drivers will not.

Printers need drivers, and drivers must be 64bit if the OS is 64 bit. The way Windows emulates 32bit will not work for drivers.

This is a common issue with older printers.
MDFF2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Home Page > Forum List > General > Jobs Board


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2021, Congregate Media, LP Privacy Policy Terms of Service