• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • aray

Ultimate Member
    Jun 6, 2010
    MD -> KY
    I know some people trap raccoons for hunting or sport; I've been trapping them for 5 years on our property under the nuisance wildlife provisions. However in that time I've never trapped a rabid raccoon (that I know of) until the last few days. I learned a lot, some of which I share below. I should start out by answering the question how do I know he was rabid? Well of course unless his head is taken and sent to a lab no one can be 100% sure. But several of our neighbors (myself included) have seen him wandering around the area since Saturday. He was out several times during the day including at noon (raccoons are normally nocturnal), he wasn't afraid of, or even seemed to notice the presence of, anyone (even cars within 4' of him), and he was walking around like he was drunk - weird gait, wobbling, etc.

I tried to hunt him the first time I saw him on Saturday but by the time I retrieved my air rifle he had vanished. I finally was able to trap him Tuesday night. Since that time here are my lessons learned:

You're on your own.

I've always gotten a DNR trapping permit (877-463-6497) to do this legally, and I know from dealing with them that normally you have to euthanize the animal on site; relocation is not allowed by law.

In the past, I've shot the raccoons (with an air rifle; I live in a wooded but residential neighborhood) then immediately dumped them in the woods behind the house. Within a day the carcass is always gone. Some scavenger (foxes I think but maybe other raccoons) always eat them. I was reluctant to do that this time because, knowing the animal to be rabid, I don't want secondary infection of rabies to spread to other animals - who then in turn can spread it along to yet more animals.