• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jstolz

Aug 28, 2018
    Glen Burnie
    Just bought a lower from Gym Rats. Any ideas on what to build? This is my first build so easier the better. I was thinking of getting a complete upper.

Ammo Jon

Ultimate Member
    Mar 3, 2008
    Make sure to grab some standard capacity mags for it!

Attachments

• C251A2F6-7E6A-43F9-8733-E5E3255F63CE.jpg
      C251A2F6-7E6A-43F9-8733-E5E3255F63CE.jpg
      64.5 KB · Views: 519

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    I'd go complete upper for first build

The whole point of an AR build is based on the upper. That's where the difference lies. Buying a complete upper, you might as well buy a complete gun. Any schmuck can build a lower.

Russ D

Ultimate Member
    Nov 10, 2008
    Sykesville
    I just built my 15th AR. My latest is the only one I’d recommend you not build. 7.5” 5.56 pistols/sbr’s are just plain rude to shoot.

Speed3

Ultimate Member
    Aug 19, 2011
    MD
    The whole point of an AR build is based on the upper. That's where the difference lies. Buying a complete upper, you might as well buy a complete gun. Any schmuck can build a lower.

As a first AR, I would still recommend buying complete upper. Schmuck or not. Once you move past your first, then you can play around....but who wants to spend $800 on an upper and have to trouble shoot it?

rbird7282

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 6, 2012
    Columbia
    As a first AR, I would still recommend buying complete upper. Schmuck or not. Once you move past your first, then you can play around....but who wants to spend $800 on an upper and have to trouble shoot it?