• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • byf43

SCSC Life/NRA Patron Life
    Recently saw an ad for Remington 870 DM 12 ga, and was wondering if anyone had one, and what you thought of it.

I don't 'need' another 870. At last count, there are 5+ in my safe.

Just thought it looked interesting, and if they're worth the $$$.

TIA.

TheOriginalMexicanBob

Ultimate Member
    Jul 2, 2017
    Sun City West, AZ
    I've no personal experience with one but the local gun store has one NIB pretty cheap because the distributors are dumping them...poor sales. The box magazine can make handling awkward for some and rimmed cartridges can make feeding problematic if not properly loaded.

The 870 is so good and smooth normally many, if not most find a box magazine of little real use. Even with a standard, tube fed shotgun, by the time you run it empty in a serious social situation, the threat is already over or you're already out of action. I see no real advantage to one beyond simply the idea of having it.

The fact they're being dumped on the market should tell you something about its future.

onedash

Ultimate Member
    Feb 24, 2016
    Calvert County
    I hope they dump the semi auto short barrel "firearms". I don't really want a pump with a 14" barrel but I'm not going to spend $700 on a semi auto version either. I'd probably get one if they come down to $300 ish.

erwos

The Hebrew Hammer
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 25, 2009
    Rockville, MD
    Here was a response I gave on a FB group about the 870 DM in a home defense role. Take from it as you will. I want to preface this with the statement that I have no issues whatsoever with detachable mag shotguns per se, and own a couple.