• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MdShooter1

Oct 7, 2020
    Hello, new member here.
    I recently purchased a Henry lever action chambered for 44 mag. It has the standard Henry semi-buckhorn sights. After several sessions at the range, these sights just don’t seem to be working for me. I’m 67 years old, and although my eyes are not bad for my age, I don’t seen to be able to focus the sights properly to be accurate past about 40 yards. I see this gun as a 100 yards or closer gun, and part of it’s appeal to me is as a short range home/personal defense gun, so I really don’t want to put a traditional style scope on it. I’ve read some reviews that say peep sights or Patridge sights would help. I’m also open to any of the latest high tech systems, which I’m just beginning to research. Any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Trepang

Ultimate Member
    Dec 10, 2015
    Southern Illinois
    Recently bought a Marlin 1895G, Marlin 1895GS and Ruger 10/22 TALO International.

All three got Skinner sights. A Skinner Express on 1895G and 10/22 and an Alaskan on 1895GS.

dink

Mar 30, 2014