• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Norton

NRA Endowment Member, Rifleman
    Staff member
    Admin
    May 22, 2005
    I'm being told that MSI founder Henry Heymering passed away on January 19.

All I know for now.

I'm at work but I'll post some thoughts later.

Ponder_MD

Ultimate Member
    Mar 9, 2020
    Maryland
    I'm new to MSI. Was the founder still active in the organization or had the reigns been handed off to other people?

mac1_131

MSI Executive Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 31, 2009
    I'm being told that MSI founder Henry Heymering passed away on January 19.

All I know for now.

I'm at work but I'll post some thoughts later.
    Wow sorry to hear that. He was a good guy.

mac1_131

MSI Executive Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 31, 2009
    I'm new to MSI. Was the founder still active in the organization or had the reigns been handed off to other people?
    Not too much. I think we saw him once or twice at Annapolis, I think he was there in 2013. Norton will have more later as he said.

I those days MSI meetings were up in Thurmont and it was fairly small.

rambling_one

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Oct 19, 2007
    Bowie, MD
    Without Henry, there’d be no MSI. He and a handful of like minded people had a vision, and made it happen.

It’s always dangerous to list players from memory, and this is only a partial list: Steve Dirlik, Ed Patrick, Phil Lee, Don Hoffman, Charlie Guggenheimer, Mark Wilson, Steve Naylor.

I joined MSI in 2005, and am proud to have served in some small way.

Rest In Peace my friend.

joppaj

Sheepdog
    Staff member
    Apr 11, 2008
    MD
    I only met him once. His passion for the cause was obvious.

Boondock Saint

Ultimate Member
    Dec 11, 2008
    White Marsh