Go Back   Maryland Shooters > The Arsenal > NFA/Class 3/Title II
Don't Have An Account? Register Here

Join MD Shooters

Old August 14th, 2019, 09:20 AM #1

Best good 30 Cal Suppressor for the money

So im new to the NFA world, just picking up my first handgun can 6 months ago. Im enjoying it so much that i think its time for a rifle can. My question is:
Im wondering if anyone can give me their recommendations on a good 30cal can thats hearing safe for 308/stainless/not sure if I want direct thread or quick detach and no more than 5-550? I talked to John at Gymratz and the one he recommended was the YHM resonator which looks good. I regret not researching my 45 can more and only want to buy one rifle can so i just want to weigh my options. Im thinking stainless vs titanium to keep cost down but I'm pretty much looking for the quietest can i can get both metered and tone. Thanks for any insight...
Buster Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2019, 09:33 AM #2
i pi

i pi

I recommend direct thread, its more versatile and muzzle devices for QD are not great. You will have another rifle to put it on.... eventually

I also think you need to ask yourself for the 30 cal what is the application. Mag dump at the range, or 5-7 shots in a hunting application? And by ".30 cal" are we talking 7x62x39, or 300 win mag? Some 9mm cans are rated for a few shots from a rifle round, up to and including 308: https://www.griffinarmament.com/revo...ilencer-mod-3/

My advice is to go for versatility, not a single use rifle application, or even the "quietest,"** because for a long time you will have way more rifles / pistols than suppressors. It will be convenient to move the suppressor from rifle to rifle (to pistol as applicable). But, whether you plan to do a mag dump at the range, or kill a hog, I think determines what you want.

** "quietest" : most suppressors will reduce the sound 25-30 dB.Be skeptical of the ratings, YMMV
danb is online now   Reply With Quote