Old January 17th, 2021, 03:12 PM #51
Anotherpyr's Avatar
Anotherpyr Anotherpyr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: People's Republic of Marylandstan
Posts: 1,900
Images: 1
Anotherpyr Anotherpyr is offline
Senior Member
Anotherpyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: People's Republic of Marylandstan
Posts: 1,900
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolAA View Post
Thanks. After the discussion here, I am going forward with the SG-3100. They are currently out of stock but I donít have a firm timeline.

Regarding the PiHole do you find that sometimes legitimate sites you try to access wont load? Its not a problem for me, but if my wife cant access CBS the Bachelor/Bachelorette for any reason, then itís going down in the Toolaa house.
PiHole issues? No. DNS provider selected? Yes. Iíve run into issues using Cloudflare and OpenDNS servers that block porn and malicious content blocking some legitimate sites. You can add sites to the PiHoleís whitelist if it does block something you access.
__________________
Maryland Designated Collector
NRA Benefactor Member
SAF Lifetime Member
MSI Sustaining Member
SOTAR Alumni
Anotherpyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2021, 03:39 PM #52
ToolAA's Avatar
ToolAA ToolAA is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ellicott City
Posts: 5,846
ToolAA ToolAA is online now
Senior Member
ToolAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ellicott City
Posts: 5,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponder_MD View Post
Crap, we use Fios for TV.

Well, I'm locking things down as best I can until I do more research.

You can get around the fios router issue like I noted above. Here are two links.

Option - 1 setup the ActionTec router in bridge mode. More tech savvy to setup but cost about $20 if you buy a used ActionTec router and return your rented one back to Verizon. https://kb.netgear.com/23977/Will-my...h-Verizon-FiOS


Option - 2 purchase a Cat5 MoCA adapter. ($60). Easier to setup but cost a little more. https://www.wikihow.com/Use-Your-Own...h-Verizon-FiOS
__________________
Honorable people with a good work ethic and strong character have shaped our communities and nation more so than presidents and congressmen. The crisis of character we see in our political leaders is a symptom of our nation's sickness not the cause for the disease.
ToolAA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2021, 12:16 AM #53
ToolAA's Avatar
ToolAA ToolAA is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ellicott City
Posts: 5,846
ToolAA ToolAA is online now
Senior Member
ToolAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ellicott City
Posts: 5,846
New question. I got my Ubiquiti APís and they are working great. Total coverage in the house. I got my Synology NAS partially setup. That was a great recommendation. Iím thinking about replacing the backup system at work with Synology.

Here is my new question. I like the Ubiquiti Management software. Apparently you can set it up to run on a PC or Pi connected to the network. I would like to avoid adding yet another device. Does anyone know if I could install the Unifi controller on either the Netgate 3100 or on the Synology NAS?
__________________
Honorable people with a good work ethic and strong character have shaped our communities and nation more so than presidents and congressmen. The crisis of character we see in our political leaders is a symptom of our nation's sickness not the cause for the disease.
ToolAA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2021, 12:20 AM #54
traveller's Avatar
traveller traveller is offline
The one with two L
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: variable
Posts: 13,178
traveller traveller is offline
The one with two L
traveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: variable
Posts: 13,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolAA View Post
Here is my new question. I like the Ubiquiti Management software. Apparently you can set it up to run on a PC or Pi connected to the network. I would like to avoid adding yet another device. Does anyone know if I could install the Unifi controller on either the Netgate 3100 or on the Synology NAS?
The APs dont need the management software to run all the time. I have the Unifi software on my laptop. The only time I need to fire it up if I want to upgrade firmware on the APs or something, other than that they are just doing their thing without further intervention.
traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2021, 01:17 AM #55
adit's Avatar
adit adit is offline
ReMember
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DE
Posts: 10,483
adit adit is offline
ReMember
adit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DE
Posts: 10,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToolAA View Post
New question. I got my Ubiquiti APís and they are working great. Total coverage in the house. I got my Synology NAS partially setup. That was a great recommendation. Iím thinking about replacing the backup system at work with Synology.

Here is my new question. I like the Ubiquiti Management software. Apparently you can set it up to run on a PC or Pi connected to the network. I would like to avoid adding yet another device. Does anyone know if I could install the Unifi controller on either the Netgate 3100 or on the Synology NAS?
Quote:
Originally Posted by traveller View Post
The APs dont need the management software to run all the time. I have the Unifi software on my laptop. The only time I need to fire it up if I want to upgrade firmware on the APs or something, other than that they are just doing their thing without further intervention.
I do the same. I have UniFi and Omada (TPLink) that I run from a laptop when I need it.

You sorta can install UniFi on pfSense. I haven't done this since I changed my preference to the TPLink AP's. https://github.com/gozoinks/unifi-pfsense
adit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2021, 11:20 AM #56
traveller's Avatar
traveller traveller is offline
The one with two L
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: variable
Posts: 13,178
traveller traveller is offline
The one with two L
traveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: variable
Posts: 13,178
You can run Unifi on a Pi. If you want to keep an eye on what lives on your network, it may not be a bad idea to build a 'Network control appliance' that runs Unifi. Touch-screen with a bezel mounted somewhere on the wall that continuously shows you the monitoring screen on Unifi. It would use minimal power to do so.
traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2021, 11:59 AM #57
kool361 kool361 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Damascus
Posts: 51
kool361 kool361 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Damascus
Posts: 51
It does seem to be overkill but it's your money. If you can hardwired is certainly the way to go but sometimes that just isn't going to work. You may want to think about what plan on fios you have. If it is something that is one of their cheaper versions you just can't get what your trying to do. I have the gigabit connection and it works flawlessly for me and my family.
kool361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2021, 09:33 PM #58
ToolAA's Avatar
ToolAA ToolAA is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ellicott City
Posts: 5,846
ToolAA ToolAA is online now
Senior Member
ToolAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ellicott City
Posts: 5,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by traveller View Post
You can run Unifi on a Pi. If you want to keep an eye on what lives on your network, it may not be a bad idea to build a 'Network control appliance' that runs Unifi. Touch-screen with a bezel mounted somewhere on the wall that continuously shows you the monitoring screen on Unifi. It would use minimal power to do so.
I just discovered that I can install the Unifi software on the Synology NAS using the Docker App. At the last minute I decided to get the slightly better NAS the DS720+ Now in hindsight I'm glad some of you guys recommended the Synology, I've got a Netgear ReadyNAS at work and the Synology just blows it away in terms of functionality and ease of setup and use. Once I get everything figured out I'll be able to put PiHole, DNS and Unifi on the NAS.

It's a solid product and one that I would recommend for any home user.
__________________
Honorable people with a good work ethic and strong character have shaped our communities and nation more so than presidents and congressmen. The crisis of character we see in our political leaders is a symptom of our nation's sickness not the cause for the disease.
ToolAA is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Home Page > Forum List > Topics of Interest > Preppers > Cyber / Tech Security


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2019, Congregate Media, LP Privacy Policy Terms of Service