MD Resident buying a handgun from out of state resident (Private Sale)

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mar 4, 2017
    Ok I have looked on many Maryland Law websites and have found no clear cut answer. I am buying a handgun (Glock 17 Mos) off of my friend. I am a Maryland Resident and he is a DE resident and I need to know the logistics of this sale. Is there a wait period after he sells me the gun. If so who holds the gun for the 7 days. I'd not are there any fees involved because he is out of state. Or anything else I am missing. Thank you for the help any advice of information will be helpful.

Cheesehead

Jan 14, 2012
    Sunny Southwest Florida
    The transaction has to be completed through an FFL in Maryland. The FFL will hold the gun. Since you're new, so you have an HQL, which is required to purchase a handgun inMD? If not you're looking at a month and over $100 to obtain one before you can even start the process of purchase. And please go to the Introductions section and introduce yourself.

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    Must go through an FFL in Maryland.

The process for the purchaser ( you, the OP) is the same as any other purchase of a handgun in Md.

Since this is a modern Glock, you will need HQL ( or be exempt). Initiate Form 77 online, have FFL do his thing at the shop. Usual 7day-ish wait to pick up from dealer..

Not_an_outlaw

Ultimate Member
    Patriot Picket
    Jan 26, 2013
    Prince Frederick, MD
    Google Searched "interstate handgun sales ATF"
    Second entry came up "Top Ten Questions" from the ATF