• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jimbobborg

Oddball caliber fan
    Aug 2, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    I have a Colt Combat Commander in 9mm. It needs work, the five lb 80 Series trigger needs to go. I figure the route I want to take is have it converted to a 10mm and get a trigger job to get it to under three pounds. It would then be my dream carry gun. Is this feasible?

GuitarmanNick

Ultimate Member
    Jan 9, 2017
    Laurel
    The following is just my opinion based on 50 years of handling firearms. I am not an expert but am a veteran with experience in some very bad situations.

With a trigger pull that light on a 1911, you would have to use lighter springs which may present a problem in a carry gun. Light primer strikes are not something you want in a life threatening situation!

Light triggers are for precision shooting, not everyday carry or SHTF situations.

TylerFirearms

, , Class-7 FFL, MRFD
    Industry Partner
    Dec 27, 2013
    Halethorpe, MD
    I’ll throw my 2 cents in and agree with the others. Handgun manufacturers have spent tons of money and have really good lawyers to determine that a 5.5 lb trigger pull should keep you from having an unintentional discharge in such a stressful situation and keep you out of hot water in the event you have to use it to defend yourself. A lighter trigger pulls means “you set your gun up to kill the bad guy faster”.

10mm is a horrible idea for self defense. Especially in the more liberal states, judges have looked at 10mm as a more lethal round and “you didn’t actually have to blow a huge hole in his chest, did you?” There was a case in Minnesota a few years back where a homeowner chose 10mm over 9mm and got hemmed up for causing so much bodily injury. He ended up in civil court and lost due to excessive use of force to stop the attack.