• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GeorgeSSR

Jan 31, 2009
    I've been seriously considering buying a MG, but am in need of advice and expertise. I'm fairly comfortable with guns, but I'm totally new to anything that fires more than one shot with every pull.

I know about the NFA process (and the need to register with MDSP), but I'm totally unsure about the firearms themselves. I'm looking to be able to shoot a rifle caliber as well as 22lr due to the guilt factor (while I can afford to shoot a case of .223, I feel less guilty going through .22) and based on the suppressors I have in NFA jail.

I've looked at a couple of M16s in some of the industry partners here and was close to buying a SGW conversion. Would that make sense over a Colt? I'm looking to shoot primarily rather than collect, and mentally I'm telling myself I'm buying this to never resell and need to be ok with it if it breakssince it can't be replaced. I also saw an AC556 that came with a conversion kit, and I really liked it as well.

Cost is a considerable factor. I get that this is absolutely a buy once cry once situation, but I can't swing a Colt for 30k right now, whereas I could do under 20k for a converted M16 or an AC556. The only thing that's given me pause on the AC556 is the word that Ruger has stopped servicing them. I've read that there's a fair crossover of parts with the Mini 14, but does that include the parts that frequency break or wear? Since I don't consider myself an expert I was also concerned about the condition of the carbine itself. It hiccupped a couple of times with 22lr, though in all fairness my dedicated uppers sometimes have issues. If I go back for the AC556, what should I look for to assess the condition of the weapon?