• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • paxfish

Ultimate Member
    Nov 11, 2008
    Culvert & Points West
    So, I'm new to the AR game, and relatively new to handloading in general. But I've been shooting a while and enjoy precision stuff. That said, I was having trouble dialing in my Rock River carbine with iron sights. I've since mounted a scope, and tried a bunch of different powder weights (AR-Comp) with good Bullets (Sierra Blitz King 55gr)

I also recorded some results. And made a couple of interesting discoveries.

Here's the crazy-big scope on the carbine (Nitrex TR2 3-15 X 50)

01a5.jpg

I shot up a bunch of reloads, some factory ammo and made some decisions on where my powder loads should be. I found that the best I could do with Tulammo and PMC was 2 MOA. Hand loads were significantly better. In attempt to describe this, I shot these 5 shot groups at 50 yards:

nh59.jpg

After refining my powder loads, I put up a few groups similar to this at 100 yards. Certainly better than the 1 MOA that Rock River advertises for their carbine, and not bad for a comparative newbie shooting off of sandbags.

h0py.jpg

But I got to thinking about the variance between the bulk ammo and the handloads. Intuitively, we know the components are better, and WE control the loading. But how much variation is there?

My loads are consistent well below .1 grains of powder variance and a 5 bullet sample of the Sierra Blitz Kings showed they are precisely 55 grains.

Next I grabbed 3 rounds out of the Tulammo box. I pulled the bullets with a pair of pliers, measured the powder and bullet weights.

The results were startling. The powder weights were all over the map, as were the bullet weights. The powder in sample 1 and 3 showed all different shapes of powder. Sample 2 was a completely different powder.

r4nw.jpg