• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Frostburg

Jan 1, 2015
    So strange question. As a former Maryland resident, and now a current resident of Washington, D.C. I keep all my firearms in Maryland. I purchased all my firearms as a Maryland resident.

I now want to sell one of my shotguns and buy a new one. I can't buy anything as a D.C. resident. But can I go to a MD FFL, purchase a basic Mossberg 500, and keep it with my other firearms in Maryland? As a former Maryland resident, I legally keep all my MD firearms in MD. And I would want my new shotgun to fall under the same stipulation. I essentially want to "trade" shotguns; one that I bought years ago. Nothing would enter D.C. It would all be Maryland biz. Or if I kept the shotgun with my sister in Virginia, I wouldn't mind buying the shotgun in Virgnia. It has no reason to leave the state where it is being purchased. Not until I move out of the district.

echo6mike

Ultimate Member
    Feb 1, 2013
    Close to DC
    IANAL, but I think that if you are now a legal resident of the District of Columbia, that means all of DC's firearms laws and regulations apply to you and your collection no matter where things may be physically located. I'm sure that for any new purchases you must follow all of the District's regulations - anything you buy now, you buy as a DC resident.

This could be complicated, you should probably get an actual lawyer's advice in real life.

F5guy

Mar 27, 2013
    Annapolis
    Your sister just called and told me she’s thinking about buying a new shotgun and storing it in MD so you can borrow it whenever you want. Ownership, possession, gifting, loaning are all interesting topics.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Frostburg

Jan 1, 2015