• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ripper157

Feb 20, 2008
    Carroll County
    I’m looking to get into trap shooting and would like to pick up a shotgun just for shooting trap. I’m looking for recommendations from everyone. I’m a beginner to trap shooting so I’m not necessarily looking for the most expensive shotgun, but I’m not trying to shoot with a home defense shotgun either (that’s all I have right now as far as shotguns go), and I’m not afraid to spend the $$$ if it’s worth it. So I’m looking for shotgun recommendations and choke recommendations, and any other equipment recommendations relative to trap shooting.

Thanks Everyone!
    Ripper

wyomingboy

Jan 26, 2009
    Are you planning on shooting ATA events? If so, that means three games, 16yd, Handicap and Doubles. In that case you would need a gun capable of shooting doubles. If you are only going to shoot informally, or if you don't want to shoot ATA Doubles, you can get away with a different gun.

The least expensive way to get into all of the events is with either a Remington 1100 Trap or a Beretta 391 Trap. However, autoloaders are bit of a pain to use because they require more cleaning, require a shell catcher, are not balanced like a break open gun and don't have the quality trigger of a break open gun.

Break open guns come in either a pure single, an over under or a combo. Singles on the low end (price wise) that are proven guns are Browning BT99s. Browning also markets a Citori Trap called an XT and an XT Combo. Beretta offers the same, but is more money. There are all sorts of guns in the used market.