• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • KJackson

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Apr 3, 2017
    Carroll County
    I am looking into possibly buying my first AR15 style gun sometime in the near future. However, even with MD being restricted to heavy barrel only, there are only about a gazillion options out there. I am looking for a simple, basic, AR. A starter type gun to get my feet wet in this arena. Since I am just getting into this, obviously price will be a major point of concern. I don't want to over-buy, but I also don't want a piece of junk. Can anyone out there recommend a good beginner's AR or some good material to help me make my decision? I see magazines out there but with MD's restrictions, I am guessing that a lot, if not most, of what I see in there is not available to me. Thanks in advance and sorry if this opens up a can of worms.

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    HBAR options are a'plenty, and plenty of manufacturers have a model for sale in restricted states.

Colt 6721, Wyndham HBAR - just to name a very few.

Engine4

Curmudgeon
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 30, 2012
    Since you're in Cow County (neighbor), stop by Baltimore's Best Pawn (another IP), they'll take care of you!

mopar92

Official MDS Court Jester
    May 5, 2011
    Taneytown
    Take your pick from Colt, Windham, Ruger or Del Ton. Go for mid length. If you want we can meet at my range (Mayberry) and you can try out the AR system to see if you actually like the rifle.

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    Based upon your stated location, Hog Rock Outtfitters ( IP , located 5 miles from your county border ) has been offering screaming deals on Md legal Armalites .

Doco Overboard

Ultimate Member