• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Evojoeix

Ultimate Member
    Jul 2, 2014
    Is this ammo go or no go? Walmart seems to have it for decent prices. $10 for a 30 round box.

Im new to the 5.56/.233 ammo game, so im not sure what prices are considered good

newq

101st Poptart Assault BSB
    Mar 6, 2011
    Eldersburg, MD
    Honestly.... Its useless in my opinion unless you can't find anything else.

Let me explain.

It not high end precision loads.

Its not as cheap as tula and its not meant for hunting or self defense.

Therefore it falls into the high dollar target ammo category. Useless.

Steel cased tula or brown bear sells for $5/20 or .25/round

BossmanPJ

Ultimate Member
    Feb 22, 2013
    Cecil County
    I have wondered that also but did not want to buy it without knowing someone who had ran it in their AR. Problem is that I don't know anyone who has ever bought it.

newq

101st Poptart Assault BSB
    Mar 6, 2011
    Eldersburg, MD
    I have wondered that also but did not want to buy it without knowing someone who had ran it in their AR. Problem is that I don't know anyone who has ever bought it.

The only usual complaints I hear are gas piston guys who find trouble with some lots of steel cased ammo that have heavy amount of lacquer on the casings to prevent rusting. It fouls up the gas system pretty bad.

The ammo shoots fine, its just not very economical. Go to your LGS and compare prices. Duffies carries spam cans or ammo and at bulk you can get better deals.

Wayne1one

gun aficionado
    Feb 13, 2011
    Bowie, MD
    Is this ammo go or no go? Walmart seems to have it for decent prices. $10 for a 30 round box.

Im new to the 5.56/.233 ammo game, so im not sure what prices are considered good