• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • NIK

Jul 31, 2012
    MD
    Hey guys, I have a question... I'm a longtime MD resident and have some of the guns on the current "bad" list that are grandfathered in since I bought em 10+ years ago, namely the M1A and an M4gery with the evil non-HBAR barrel.

I got a job offer in Richmond. I will not uproot my family for the move, so I may get a condo or something in VA and split my time between MD and VA. Here's my question... If I get a VA license, will my rifles become illegal (or subject to registration by MSP) even though they never moved from my safe?

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    If you establish residency in VA, then, IANAL, they would become illegal when youmove back to MD and reestablish residency here.

But if, you can spend at least 185 days a year in MD (weekends, holidays, vacation, telework), you would not have to establish VA residency, and then they would stay legal.

Or, just move the family to Richmond and become a resident/citizen of the United States of America.

protegeV

Ready to go
    Apr 3, 2011
    TX
    If you establish residency in VA, then, IANAL, they would become illegal when youmove back to MD and reestablish residency here.

But if, you can spend at least 185 days a year in MD (weekends, holidays, vacation, telework), you would not have to establish VA residency, and then they would stay legal.

Or, just move the family to Richmond and become a resident/citizen of the United States of America.

:thumbsup:

swinokur

In a State of Bliss
    Patriot Picket
    Apr 15, 2009
    Westminster USA
    If they were possessed before 10-1-13, you'd only need to register them when moving back, they wouldn't be illegal. But

IANAL.

RoadDawg

Nos nostraque Deo
    Dec 6, 2010