• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Laddertowr

trigger puller
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 3, 2013
    IM looking into buying a C&R pistol from a MD resident... we both have C&R's.... So my question is ... Do we need to go through MSP for this?

Laddertowr

trigger puller
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 3, 2013
    Thanks Dave,,, like I had said..Im new to all this....somethings just don't make sense to me...Just bought a M57 from SOG and they sent it to me after I e-mailed them a copy of my C&R ...I have my HQL & C&R..

I'll blame my confusion on the matter because of my age and leave it at that .... Thanks guys for all the info

Hi-Torque

Jan 16, 2013
    Finksburg
    Meet across state lines... that is the easiest way.

But you're entering an 03FFL #, Name, and Address into your bound book from another 03FFL who also lives in the state. You can meet in Disneyland and take pictures of the physical transfer, but you're still buying and documenting a handgun transfer directly from a Maryland resident as far as your bound books are concerned.

Where you physically transferred the item it isn't asked in the bound books, but who sold it to you is....An 03FFL does not trump the in-state handgun transfer rules. This was the case pre-SB281 as well, nothing has changed.

This is what Melnic's post states in the "Buying a C&R handgun from an individual within MD" section." Actually it doesn't matter if the buyer or seller has an 03FFL C&R license, only the C&R status of the gun matters in a MD-to-MD handgun transfer, and that just gets you out of an HQL, not the 77r or wait period.

Hi-Torque

Jan 16, 2013
    Finksburg
    ...Just bought a M57 from SOG and they sent it to me after I e-mailed them a copy of my C&R ...I have my HQL & C&R..