• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jimbobborg

Oddball caliber fan
    Aug 2, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    After a long absence, I'm going to hit the fields this year. I've picked up a few shotguns in a variety of configurations. Since someone else may benefit from this, too, I'll ask. What makes a great dove shotgun? I'm not asking about specific models or brands. Just looking for action, choke, barrel length, etc. Thanks.

Bountied

Ultimate Member
    Apr 6, 2012
    Pasadena
    I prefer my 20ga pump with #6-8 bird loads, 26" barrel and a modified choke. A good retriever is nice too.

Last edited:

Derwood

Ultimate Member
    Jun 2, 2011
    DC area
    Others may have better ideas for you. I have limited experience, but I'd use #7 or #8 shot with a modified choke if I was using my 12 gauge pump. This year I'm going to use my 16 gauge side-by-side with #7 shot. One barrel is a modified choke and one barrel is full. That may be less than ideal but I really enjoy shooting the sxs and I've found with dove hunting, you do much more shooting than hitting no matter what gun you use! So bring more ammo than you think you'll need.

Doves fly fast so a wider pattern and smaller shot is helpful. But often, you'll miss the first shot and it's nice to have a little more range for the second effort. So I think modified makes sense.

pbharvey

Habitual Testifier
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 27, 2012
    Use whichever gun you swing the best. It’s more about you than the gun.

Uncle Duke

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 2, 2013
    Not Far Enough from the City
    Dove Hunting Made Easy

1. Dove flushes.

2. Holler "There he is !!!"

3. Mount 12ga. pump to shoulder.

4. Verify target and what's behind it.

5. Swing on dove and disengage safety.

6.Bang! Eject.

7. Bang! Eject.

8. Bang!

9. Eject the last of your 3 rounds of 1-1/8 oz. #8 shot.