• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SteYourGoals

Mar 16, 2020
    Hi all. Newbie here. I have been doing research for the past month or so on buying my first firearm. Obviously you all know it's a huge pain in the ass here in DC, but I'd finally figured out the process (I think), which firearm I wanted to get, etc. Then of course the virus crisis hits and now everyone and their mother is trying to buy a gun I'm sure. But I decided to press on.

So today I emailed Charles Sykes the FFL, and he told me he is not processing any transfers at this time, and explicitly said there is no legal way to purchase a firearm in DC. Is that constitutional? Seems crazy to me that I live in a territory where I'm allowed to own a gun, and I'm not legally able to obtain one.

Just venting I guess. Thanks for all the help, this forum saved me a lot of time in my research.

Melnic

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 27, 2012
    HoCo
    Pistol I presume? you said "firearm" which would include long guns & Shotguns which you can purchase in any state

SkiPatrolDude

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Oct 24, 2017
    Timonium-Lutherville
    Yes, sorry should have been more clear.

Do you not need to go through the FFL for a long gun or shotgun in DC?

No, you must go through an FFL for any firearm, excluding long gun transfers between two residents of the same state (at least in md).

Any new firearm needs to be purchased through an FFL, with appropriate background checks, paperwork, etc.

I think the advice you were given from your FFL was hyperbole. What he prob meant to say was that demand is so high at the moment that they are not processing transfers, and may be so low on supply that they don't have what you are looking for.