Go Back   Maryland Shooters > The Arsenal > Rifles
Don't Have An Account? Register Here

Join MD Shooters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 12th, 2018, 09:53 AM #41
byf43's Avatar
byf43 byf43 is offline
SCSC Life/NRA Patron Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern Maryland ("Chuck County")
Posts: 7,948
byf43 byf43 is offline
SCSC Life/NRA Patron Life
byf43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern Maryland ("Chuck County")
Posts: 7,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajviera View Post
Got my M1A loaded today and installed Sallak scope mount. Love it.
Just curious...................

Why do you have an 'extra' mount between the Sadlak Industries mount and the scope rings???????

Another way to put it............
Did you get a Building Permit for that high-rise scope??????

IF you remove that mid-mount, you can/will get that scope closer to the bore/bore line of the rifle.

Medium height rings work really well on that Sadlak Ind. mount, with a 40mm bell(ed) scope.

Again, just curious.
__________________
With regard to shooting Black Powder:
Quote:
Originally Posted by K31 01/06/2015 @ 6:59 p.m.
There's nothing quite like standing on the firing line, stuffing your ramrod down a waiting black hole, slathering your balls with grease, and then having as many as eight nipples.

With regard to reloading:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buff7mm 04/28/2016, 07:32 PM
Dealing with stuff that can cause catastrophic failure in your firearms, and injury or death to you and those in close proximity. I treat every step as if my life depends on it.
byf43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2018, 07:41 PM #42
Doco Overboard's Avatar
Doco Overboard Doco Overboard is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: The heart of the Delmarva Penninsula
Posts: 2,300
Doco Overboard Doco Overboard is offline
Senior Member
Doco Overboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: The heart of the Delmarva Penninsula
Posts: 2,300
I'm trying to figure out whats different with my rifle vs one .30. What I found out so far is that the expansion chamber is bored to a deeper depth than what the spec my text describes. At first I thought it would have been the number of annular grooves or the distance the gas port is located and (cut off) to rectify the pressures generated by commercially loaded ammo or powders commonly associated with hand rolled ammo in 6.5 to prevent action/ op rod battering. Is this even a concern being that a gas cut off system is in play?
What I didn't do was was remove the spindle valve or have numbered lettered drills available to determine barrel gas port diameter or the correct gauge to check gas port alignment to verify anything going on there.
The gas piston exterior measures up the same for a 30 cal rifle with the exception of the depth of the expansion area. If I let it build up with carbon will it subsequently affect impingement until the point of possible damage, I don't know maybe someone in the know can provide some feedback. User manual only indicates the recommendation of factory loaded cartridges and of course the avoidance of hand loaded ammo. (its all 30 cal literature) No recommendations have been provided for the selection of ammo with the included manufacturer guidelines if its even relevant.
The other thing I didn't get to was to measure the op rod guide to check against the specs I had in front me. could be there's a little more support in there as well, need to check it out when I have more time and that would even swap to another rifle if exterior profile allows.
My thinking is that if the gas piston in my rifle would be installed in a 30 cal rifle the resulting energy wouldn't operate the action efficiently. It reminds me of a Garand gear plug only allowing for the opportunity to increase the volume of the system except there is an exceptional amount of extra volume with the addition of one those. You can see it right off.
Or, none of this really matters and I'm just overthinking it and.... the barrel has v type threads and I just don't know it until I want to make it 30 cal one day.
The depth of the expansion cavity on my cylinder is 1.542 to where my caliper bottoms out at the concave surface at the bottom of the bore, could be some additional room in there like its bored a little deeper I didn't go any further, long day, my text indicates 1.525 + .015 for depth on other parts already commonly in use.
I have nothing else to compare it too at the moment. Everything else is the same with the exception of the bore and the barrel profile up to the front band. Same mag and just a number of cast components used to dress the rifle.
Bottom line for me, shoots good digging it (wish it was .30) but certainly a step in the right direction to avoiding the victim culture that's been bestowed on us.
Hope to hear what others have been able to learn.
Doco Overboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2018, 08:58 PM #43
ajviera's Avatar
ajviera ajviera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Avenue, MD
Posts: 245
ajviera ajviera is offline
Member
ajviera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Avenue, MD
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by byf43 View Post
Just curious...................

Why do you have an 'extra' mount between the Sadlak Industries mount and the scope rings???????

Another way to put it............
Did you get a Building Permit for that high-rise scope??????

IF you remove that mid-mount, you can/will get that scope closer to the bore/bore line of the rifle.

Medium height rings work really well on that Sadlak Ind. mount, with a 40mm bell(ed) scope.

Again, just curious.
Yuk Yuk! 1st off it isn't an extra mount and they are not rings! It is a KDG QD Sidlok mount. Should really know what you're talking about before posting some smart ass question. I just put that on there until I order a new set up. Just sayin
Attached Images
  
ajviera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2018, 10:00 AM #44
byf43's Avatar
byf43 byf43 is offline
SCSC Life/NRA Patron Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern Maryland ("Chuck County")
Posts: 7,948
byf43 byf43 is offline
SCSC Life/NRA Patron Life
byf43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern Maryland ("Chuck County")
Posts: 7,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajviera View Post
Yuk Yuk! 1st off it isn't an extra mount and they are not rings! It is a KDG QD Sidlok mount. Should really know what you're talking about before posting some smart ass question. I just put that on there until I order a new set up. Just sayin

First of all............ not intended to be a "smart ass question".

With the darkness of the photo (can barely see details) I was curious as to why the scope was so high.

Second, I do know what I'm talking about. That scope is awfully high.

You don't have to worry about any further interaction or questions from me.

Have a nice life.
__________________
With regard to shooting Black Powder:
Quote:
Originally Posted by K31 01/06/2015 @ 6:59 p.m.
There's nothing quite like standing on the firing line, stuffing your ramrod down a waiting black hole, slathering your balls with grease, and then having as many as eight nipples.

With regard to reloading:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buff7mm 04/28/2016, 07:32 PM
Dealing with stuff that can cause catastrophic failure in your firearms, and injury or death to you and those in close proximity. I treat every step as if my life depends on it.
byf43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2018, 06:48 PM #45
ajviera's Avatar
ajviera ajviera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Avenue, MD
Posts: 245
ajviera ajviera is offline
Member
ajviera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Avenue, MD
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by byf43 View Post
First of all............ not intended to be a "smart ass question".

With the darkness of the photo (can barely see details) I was curious as to why the scope was so high.

Second, I do know what I'm talking about. That scope is awfully high.

You don't have to worry about any further interaction or questions from me.

Have a nice life.
So you don't consider this "Another way to put it............Did you get a Building Permit for that high-rise scope??????" a smart ass question? Good to know, won't lose any sleep.
ajviera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2018, 12:02 AM #46
Pinecone Pinecone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 16,416
Pinecone Pinecone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 16,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazarus View Post
Because a .300BO AR isnít really an AR-15. Nor is a 5.7 AR. And a 9MM AR certainly isnít. The lower is different on a couple of those and for the .300BO, the barrel can physically interchange, but they still donít function the same.

A 6.5 or 6.8 AR really isnít because you have different bolt heads and magazines too.

MSP, who I assume ask either AG questions or have regulatory staff who are supposed to be skilled in interpreting MD laws say if it is a different caliber, itís okay. There have been no letters sent out to FFLs saying they are doing something wrong. FFLs whoís business and freedom are on the line are selling them. Heck, MSP has started to issue approvals to AK-74 ďcopiesĒ.

Just saying.

(I guess with the M1a, despite the marketing MSP interpreted the ban as only covering 7.62 versions as at the time of the ban and earlier restriction, the M1a was only a 7.62 rifle).

It may matter for me some day, but at least right now all my ARs except my pistol wear heavy barrels cause thatís how I roll. I wish there wasnít the stupid ban, because I would love to build an ultralight AR-15 in 14.5 pinned configuration, but frankly my 16Ē minimalist with HBAR barrel and red dot tips the scales at 6lbs 9-10oz with sling, unloaded. Thatís not as light as my M1 carbine, but it is still pretty dang light and handy. If I really care to shed more weight I could probably pick up a fluted HBAR Barrel for it to shed another 4-5oz and a titanium comp.
AG letter specifies what makes a copy. It doesn't have to be an AR, it can be banned as a copy.

If you swap the barrels between an AR in 5.56 and .300 BO, they both still function (with the proper ammo).

Now, under the AG letter, the 6.5 or 6.7 would not be a copy, as you have to change two parts to make it work. Barrel and bolt.

But also, the MSP list is NOT LEGALLY BINDING. If you buy something that list says is not banned, you could still be doing something illegal. The page even states it is not legally binding.
Pinecone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Home Page > Forum List > The Arsenal > Rifles


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2018, Congregate Media, LP Privacy Policy Terms of Service