• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Yingpin

Ultimate Member
    May 31, 2013
    Kingsville, MD
    I am hoping you guys can help me with a few things. I recently moved into a new house in Kingsville. This is my first time one well and I have a few questions regarding water treatment or filtration and if it necessary. My wife claims that the water has a metallic taste but I think it is fine as is. My major concern is with the copper piping and potential deterioration. The house was built in 1971 and does not currently have a neutralizer installed or any filters that I am aware of.

During the inspection, a recommendation was made to add the following - Advanced Electronic Neutralizer 1495.00 installed with lifetime warranty.

Here are our results;

PH = 6.2
    Bacteria, Coliform, Total, MPN = <1.0
    Bacteria, E. coli, MPN = <1.0
    Nitrate = 3.11
    Turbidity = 1.06
    Lead = .0043

Can you guys school me on what necessary changes I should make?

Mr. Ed

This IS my Happy Face
    MDS Supporter
    Jun 8, 2009
    Edgewater
    I have well water, too. One of the major concerns is the higher concentration of dissolved minerals in the water than city water. These include sulfur, calcium, iron, and some others that I can't remember right now. They won't just damage pipes, but will stain bathroom porcelain and shorten the life of all faucets and your water heater. I'd also recommend a particulate filter. You might be amazed at how much crap you'll see collected.

Not familiar with the product you mentioned, but you'll probably need something. Maybe get a second opinion. But there's a great chance that you'll benefit from something treating your well water before it gets circulated through the house.

FWIW, I use a salt crystal softener and a chlorinator. And a particulate filter.

Boom Boom

Hold my beer. Watch this.
    Jul 16, 2010