• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Wrldruler

Sep 5, 2019
    Gun novice here. I am getting frustrated with the State websites, so hoping I can get a quick answer here.

In 2010, my father in law passed away, and I inherited his Glock. I registered with the state police and did the various checks and hoops.

Gun sat in my closet for the last nine years, and I decide to sell it. I live in MD, right on the DE line. I visited a DE gun shop (licensed dealer) and sold it. He took my ID, gave me a written receipt and the money, and that was it.

I asked him about my MD registration and he said DE did not have registration laws (yet), so there is nothing more we need to do.

Now I am nervous. MD still thinks I own this gun, but it is floating around a dealer's shop, likely to be sold to a non-MD resident.

Do I need to notify MD of the sale?

Thanks

KevinK

Ultimate Member
    Jun 24, 2008
    Carroll County, Md
    Gun novice here. I am getting frustrated with the State websites, so hoping I can get a quick answer here.

In 2010, my father in law passed away, and I inherited his Glock. I registered with the state police and did the various checks and hoops.

Gun sat in my closet for the last nine years, and I decide to sell it. I live in MD, right on the DE line. I visited a DE gun shop (licensed dealer) and sold it. He took my ID, gave me a written receipt and the money, and that was it.

I asked him about my MD registration and he said DE did not have registration laws (yet), so there is nothing more we need to do.

Now I am nervous. MD still thinks I own this gun, but it is floating around a dealer's shop, likely to be sold to a non-MD resident.

Do I need to notify MD of the sale?

Thanks

Fast answer: No