• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • OLM-Medic

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    May 5, 2010
    I did a small amount of reloading junk ammo on a single stage many years ago, but I'm new to the turret press.

1) do you need to trim cases to the same length for long range shooting? I heard you do for consistency.

2) do you need to trim at exact max trim length (a lot of my cases happen to be), or just when you go over?

3) being new to the turret press, I feel like it cuts out some steps I'm used to. For example, you don't really clean primer pockets or fully inspect like you do with a single stage. Any concerns here?

4) best cheap way to clean cases? I was going to skip this step but since I can a suppressor they are caked in carbon with the semiauto.

5) my reloading manual says crimping degrades accuracy and shouldnt be done unless there is a cannelure, however I've seen factory crimped ammo on bullets with no cannelure. what's the truth here?

6) also, what's a good trimmer? I just have one of those cheap Lee hand trimmers.

Rockzilla

Ultimate Member
    Feb 6, 2010
    55.751244 / 37.618423
    Key words "Long Range" shooting
    and what are your goals? expectations,
    of course what round are you using for long range.?
    Rig? Range < 1k, > 1k alot of variables here...

1. Yes...consistency
    2. Yes....Trim-to Length
    3. Inspection is important for signs of
    case failure. also it helps to keep track
    of number of reloads per case. Primer
    pockets yes and no..it depends, practice
    rounds, generally don't but, when cleaning
    cases.
    4. Clean cases, some use Wet tumbling others
    dry either with corn cob or walnut shells (lizard
    litter) wet tumbling seems the better option you
    can build one or buy one, went the build root here.
    also if you deprime before hand it takes care of the