• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Archeryrob

Undecided on a great many things
    Mar 7, 2013
    Washington Co. - Fairplay
    So I got a spot to clear out some deer and bought a nice Moultrie Unlimited feeder to bring in the deer to stack up and the property owner just told me they have a bear in the neighborhood. Seems to be a young male, but he's tearing up bird feeders and chicken feeders at will. I know he's going to trash my deer feeder if I put it out.

I hung a 6 gallon feeder from a rope and pulleys to start, but its just a PITA. The rope twists and you can't lower or raise it by yourself. What have you all done as this is my first time dealing with a bear and a feeder.

namrelio

Ultimate Member
    Aug 14, 2013
    Frederick Co. Virginia
    I've never dealt with bears but I would think they would tear up any type of feeder. Is your spot to far to maybe just spread some corn out from time to time? The deer won't forget where they found it. :)

engineerbrian

JMB fan club
    Sep 3, 2010
    Fredneck
    A friend of mine in western MD hangs his with a rope and pulley set up too, but he uses a hand crank to raise and lower it. Something similar to a come along or boat trailer crank

Alea Jacta Est

Extinguished member
    MDS Supporter
    Big year for bears. BIG

I’ve had one wandering around the back yard twice in a week. This is way early imo.

Don’t take them for granted. They are powerful and can cover fifteen yards in a second or two from a dead stop. They are also highly unpredictable.

YMMV

Speed3

Ultimate Member
    Aug 19, 2011
    MD
    I just pulled my feeders in.

A friend of mine made a pulley system and one day he heard something outside. He went to pull the feeder towards him and it pulled back. The bear had climbed the tree where the other pulley was and was wheeling the feeder his way.

Archeryrob

Mar 7, 2013