• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jimbobborg

Oddball caliber fan
    Aug 2, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    I've been shooting some kind of action shooting sports for 10 years now. My delimma in shooting pistol in action shooting is I'm suddenly unable to perceive time once the timer starts. While I'm shooting, it feels like I'm doing good time wise, but my actual times are telling me I'm poking along. What I think is taking me 30 seconds is taking me 50+ seconds. I'm not sure how to rectify this. Any pointers or suggestions?

MacGuns

Ultimate Member
    Jan 14, 2013
    Chester
    For me, once that start timer beeps I drop 20 IQ points.

I think it is just a matter of more practice and reviewing mistakes. Take one of your mistakes and work on that during practice. Once you have that down, move onto the next mistake. For example, for PRS I use 10 or 12 round magazines. I used to forget about doing a pre-emptive reloads when transitioning between props. I practiced that for some time until it is now ingrained. That saved me a ton of time so I wouldn't par out on some stages.

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    I'm not a competitive shooter, but common sense tells us the shot is a millisecond, everything you do between shots is what eats up time. Like MacMoov said, work on your transitions.

davsco

Ultimate Member
    Oct 21, 2010
    Loudoun, VA
    What I think is taking me 30 seconds is taking me 50+ seconds. I'm not sure how to rectify this. Any pointers or suggestions?

you just have to be on a target kill mission. it's a mindset vs casual plinking.