• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Atlantico

Sep 5, 2021
    Hi folks. New here so not entirely sure if this is the right forum. Anyway, I’m new to the region and a potential first time gun owner so I’m very unfamiliar with the regulations here or anywhere.

That said, is there any legal way to own a fully automatic Thompson sub machine gun in Maryland with the traditional shorter barrel that is not one of the insanely expensive originals?

My understanding is that Kahr is the current manufacturer, makes them semi-auto (possible and legal for a smith to convert?), and makes them with the original shorter barrel or the (in my opinion silly-looking) longer barrel but that SBRs are more tightly regulated/restricted. Is there a way to legally own a SBR in Maryland?

It sounds like the way to go with full auto is getting an FFL? Then I guess it comes down to conversion and SBR? As much as I love sticking it to the man, I don’t intend to go breaking any firearms regulations so any advice is appreciated. Many thanks!

Darkemp

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Aug 18, 2009
    Marylandistan
    All transferable FA Thompson’s are pre-1986 manufacture as are all other FA’s. SBR is irrelevant on a Class III machine gun.

As for an FFL yes they can get and own new manufacture Class III’s, as for you getting one you would require an actual firearms business to do so.

ken792

Ultimate Member
    Sep 2, 2011
    Fairfax, VA
    Not only is barrel length irrelevant federally for machine guns, it’s irrelevant to MD’s laws too. MD’s 29” OAL only applies to semi-auto long guns.