New to MD from GA. What do I need to do?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • stevenjo28

Jun 29, 2021
    Hey folks, I'm new to the state. I have a Glock 43 which I use for self-defense at home and occasionally take out for target practice. I have a Georgia Carry Permit, which I don't think is valid in Maryland.

Do I need to register my Glock? And how do I do that if I need to?

I also probably need to get a Carry Permit again. Is there a way for me to exchange my Georgia Permit for a Maryland Permit? It's still valid for another 4 years.

Allen65

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jun 29, 2013
    Anne Arundel County
    Maryland is a "May Issue" state. Your GA CCW means nothing towards getting a MD CCW, and MD doesn't offer reciprocity with any other state.
    A lot of good information on all this can be found here:
    https://www.marylandshallissue.org/jmain/index.php Consider joining the organization; they've done a lot to fight for 2A rights in MD.

In order to obtain a MD CCW, you need what the State Police determine to be a "Good and Substantial Reason". Justifications that have worked are:
    1. You're a well-connected MD Democrat politician
    2. You own a business and transport cash, or are an armored car guard
    3. You're a well-connected MD Democrat politician
    4. You have a security clearance
    5. You're a well-connected MD Democrat politician
    6. You have documented threats (via police reports) against yourself or your family of death or serious bodily injury
    7. You're a big donor to a well-connected MD Democrat politician