• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Sharpeneddark

Ultimate Member
    Mar 20, 2013
    Westminster
    If you were to buy a 10.5" .300 BO barrel today, what brand would you buy? Search engines spit out Mega and Mas Defense, but I've had zero experience with them. Currently I have an Anderson barrel on it and it works, but not as well as I had hoped. I think my gas port needs to be enlarged so it cycles the bolt more easily, but before I cut it I wanted to get a spare barrel. If I'm going to buy a new barrel, I might as well make it a higher quality one than the one I have.

The 10.5" length is not changeable as it is an SBR and that's what's written on the form and I have no desire to go longer because I'm waiting on my can to be released from ATF Hell.

JB62

Ultimate Member
    Mar 5, 2013
    Annapolis
    NOVESKE. Have one on my sbr 300 build and could not ask for more, well except to have been a little cheaper....

rayrevolver

Jul 26, 2012
    The 10.5" length is not changeable as it is an SBR and that's what's written on the form and I have no desire to go longer because I'm waiting on my can to be released from ATF Hell.

As long as you keep a 10.5 upper around there is no reason you can't go shorter with another SBR lower. That said, a 9" barrel will meet the Maryland 29" limits with things like the Vltor A5 RE and specific long stocks.

The sweet spot for 300BLK is ~9" but it makes for tough handguard selection. I found an AAC 9" barrel kit a few years ago and am very happy with it.

But if you have Noveske cash, get the Noveske!:party29:

Here is a 9" option:
    http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/BCM-9-ENHANCED-FLUTED-300-Blackout-Barrels-p/bcm-brl-9f-300.htm

BA is generally a good buy at moderate prices and covers a bunch of lengths:
    http://ballisticadvantage.com/ar-parts/ar-barrels/300-blackout.html

Faxon is another option: