Media separator...Reloading for dummies...

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • boisepaw

boisepaw
    Jan 5, 2015
    Eastern shore, MD
    OK folks...

I had been farming out my brass cleaning and prep work for a couple of years but with all this time on my hands and no local contacts, I'll go back to doing it myself.

What are y'all using for separating the cases and media after tumbling them?

And is there another cleaning process (other than my good old fashioned RCBS tumbler) that is better/faster/cleaner?

Matlack

Scribe
    Dec 15, 2008
    I picked up the hornady rotary media separator a few months back for, I want to say, $15 or $20. Before that I just fished them out of the tumbler. I want to get a sonic cleaner. They are supposed to work great.

Matlack

Scribe
    Dec 15, 2008
    You can also use a colander over a bucket in a pinch. They are cheaper than anything else.

GunBum

Feb 21, 2018
    SW Missouri
    I pour mine through a screen the sits on top of a 5 gallon bucket (homemade wood frame with hardware cloth screen). Then I pick the brass out of the screen frame and make sure it’s empty of media. It takes about 5 minutes to do the whole tumbler’s worth. I’ve been doing it this way for years. I’ve used the media separator before, but for the extra 2 minutes, I’ll save my money for more bullets, powder, and primers.

Maher1510

Mar 23, 2015
    Frederick