• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Oct 11, 2012
    I'm new to Maryland and will be properly safe and licensed for rifle season. I've read through the DNR rules and can't seem to find anything regarding power line cut right-of-ways through tracts of private property.

I plan on talking to the property owners (two neighbors) to ask for permission to hunt on their land, but I don't know if hunting the right-of-ways requires their permission or not. Anyone have any experience along these lines?

lx1x

Peanut Gallery
    Apr 19, 2009
    Maryland
    you need permission from the power company to hunt their r-o-w's.. other than that.. you are tresspassing.

BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County
    As I've always understood it, it's the owners property, they can use it as they see fit as long as it doesn't interfere with said utility. The utility has a right of way to cross said property.

lx1x

Peanut Gallery
    Apr 19, 2009
    Maryland
    As I've always understood it, it's the owners property, they can use it as they see fit as long as it doesn't interfere with said utility. The utility has a right of way to cross said property.

depending.. if you talking about them big powerlines.. they are really owned by the power company not the people thats next to them.

right of way vs easements are totally different. easements.. yes.. right of ways.. no.

Oct 11, 2012
    Sounds like I need to talk to SMECO, too. I'm looking at some fairly large cuts in St. Mary's county and want to make sure I've asked all the right people.

BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County