• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Brent

#2ALivesMatter
    Nov 22, 2013
    Amongst the Deplorables, SC.
    So I missed out on an AK or receiver before sb281...well come March 18th, I am a North Carolina resident and you know what that means...but all the guns!

That being said I want an entry levelish but long lasting -47
    Chrome lined is nice but not a super deal breaker as I can barrel swap years down the road after shooting surplus x39 if I feel frisky. In any event, how do people feel about the WASR 10? I am not interested in a poly stock set up for my first one, I just want a traditional set up for the AK cherry. Price is a consideration because again, not looking to drop $1k on my first AK.
    Funny enough, I have 6 AK mags in the closet as I knew one day I would buy one. Let me hear your thoughts, impressions, and real world experience with the different variants.
    Thank you
    --Brent

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rob-cubed

In need of moderation
    Sep 24, 2009
    Holding the line in Baltimore
    WASR quality control is lower than other imports: the good ones are good and the bad ones have canted sights or poor groupings. Inspect in person before buying.

I'd recommend you go for a Bulgarian or Saiga conversion (if you can even find the latter these days). Both are consistent, quality imports. Hopefully the ban on Russian imports will be lifted during the Trump administration. Converted VEPRs are also quite nice, just a little heavier.

There are lots of US-built options too. Some are excellent quality and others are slapped together. Same story: try before you buy if possible.

Except for the poly folders, AK furniture is easily swappable if you really want the wood look.