• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • fivepointstar

Thank you MD-Goodbye
    Apr 28, 2008
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    I know that you can't use 5.56 in the rifles unless the barrel is marked otherwise it will destroy the barrel.

So, can I load my magazines with both 5.55 and .223? will it do anything to the mag
    :tinfoil2:

AlBeight

MDS Supporter
    Mar 30, 2017
    Hampstead
    Nope. Good to go. Though a PMag can stretch out the feed lips I’ve heard, without the mag retainer clip now provided on the Gen 3Mags. Heard the older plastic mags will stretch out if kept loaded for extended periods of time. I have no experience with this, just what I read.

RCH

Will work for ammo.
    Mar 18, 2007
    PG County
    Why does post seem like a 2010 flashback?

You can use either in a AR mag. The feed lip stretch is a myth. Magpul and few others have tested this by leaving a magpul loaded for months (which then evolved to 2-3 years) with no problem. New gen 2 are no longer sold with the now named "impact/dust cover".

lazarus

Ultimate Member
    Jun 23, 2015
    Also, likely won’t destroy a .223 Barrel firing 5.56 through it.

It is not a good idea to do regularly. Likely causes higher than SAMMI pressures because of the fractionally smaller chamber. A few or even a few hundred rounds probably would be okay. Will likely cause higher fatigue of the metal. A badly made barrel that is also slightly tighter than spec could cause serious problems.

dontpanic

Ultimate Member
    Jul 7, 2013
    Timonium

It is not a good idea to do regularly. Likely causes higher than SAMMI pressures because of the fractionally smaller chamber. A few or even a few hundred rounds probably would be okay. Will likely cause higher fatigue of the metal. A badly made barrel that is also slightly tighter than spec could cause serious problems.