• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • AKbythebay

Ultimate Member
    From what I understand, transporting rifles or shotguns in vehicles in Maryland is treated differently than transporting handguns in vehicles (ie. you don't need to be traveling to/from a range, gun shop, hunting, etc).

So my question is, what are the laws regarding keeping a shotgun or other long gun in my vehicle as protection? Could I keep one on the floor of the back seat to use in case of a "problem" of some sort? I'm fairly sure I couldn't keep it loaded but I could have ammo readily available should the need arise.

Anyone know the specifics on this???

K-Romulus

Suburban Commando
    Mar 15, 2007
    NE MoCO
    There does seem to be a gray area (but I'm not a MD lawyer).

There is a fish & game statute that says shotguns and handguns must be unloaded, and rifles "to include the magazine."

With MD's partial preemption, localities can restrict possession of all firearms within 100(?) yards of parks, churches and "other places of public assembly." MoCO (of course) has a law banning all possession in such a zone unless transporting it unloaded in a the trunk of a car actually driving along a public road. I can get links up later for these laws..

novus collectus

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    May 1, 2005
    Bowie
    From what I understand, transporting rifles or shotguns in vehicles in Maryland is treated differently than transporting handguns in vehicles (ie. you don't need to be traveling to/from a range, gun shop, hunting, etc).