• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • marte616

God bless America...
    MDS Supporter
    Apr 15, 2008
    Occupied Territory
    Guys,

I am developing a business plan for a capstone project for my Graduate Certificate in Business Administration. For the project, I have decided to design a contraption that would facilitate entry into a tall/lifted vehicle for elderly, handicapped, wounded warriors, etc. I already searched for patents in the USPTO website, and so far, there is no granted patent or application for a product exactly like my idea.

I studied electro-mechanics in the Navy 30 years ago. I am also somewhat mechanically inclined, but I do not have the engineering background needed to design a mass-produced device that is safe and user friendly without help.

At any rate, I am looking for an engineer/student or a fabricator that would e interested in talking shop with me, i.e. help me transform my idea into
    a workable design with realistic load tables, stress calculations, gear ratios, pivot points, etc. Knowledge of metallurgy, material procurement and handling, welding, fasteners/electro-mechanics/hydraulics/pneumatics a plus. Knowledge of lightweight metals for automotive applications would be awesome. Jeep owners that live and breathe the platform for which my design be marketed for are the icing on the cake.

Consider this a "startup"; actually, just a class project, for now. As such, compensation is zero-to-low right now (I would consider hourly fee or flat fee, but this would be out of pocket for me). Potential income for the right partner will be proportionate to "sweat equity", should the product get recognition and sales. Someone with previous business venture experience is welcome, as well.