• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cpbrews

Feb 18, 2016
    Hey all, I'm new to the MD shooters forums and I have some questions regarding the legality of owning an 80% AR lower. I know it's possible to order them, but a local gun shop told me that unless I'm a licensed gunsmith or FFL dealer, that I cannot finish the machining on an 80% lower to make it into a "firearm" . The lady said it was illegal. But I've heard that as long as I finish the lower, with no intention of selling/giving it away, and use it only for my personal use, that I'm perfectly fine to do so..so here I am asking y'all about this! Thank you in advance for any advice :)

Bolts Rock

Living in Free America!
    Apr 8, 2012
    Northern Alabama
    Hey all, I'm new to the MD shooters forums and I have some questions regarding the legality of owning an 80% AR lower. I know it's possible to order them, but a local gun shop told me that unless I'm a licensed gunsmith or FFL dealer, that I cannot finish the machining on an 80% lower to make it into a "firearm" . The lady said it was illegal. But I've heard that as long as I finish the lower, with no intention of selling/giving it away, and use it only for my personal use, that I'm perfectly fine to do so..so here I am asking y'all about this! Thank you in advance for any advice :)

Worth A Shot perhaps?

fred333

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Dec 20, 2013
    Put simply, it's legal to manufacture your own rifle in Maryland as long as it ends up with >16" long HBAR (heavy) barrel. Non-HBAR barrels on a civilian-owned AR rifle are verboten, regardless of who constructs it. On the other hand, AR sidearms 'n' SBRs're alot more fun.

cpbrews

Feb 18, 2016