• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • pitbull

Jan 23, 2013
    So I currently work as a bouncer in Baltimore City. I've worked there a year, but have been bouncing large nightclubs or 7 or 8 years. In that time, I've pissed off plenty of people and had countless threats made against me. (Mostly just drunken shit heads rambling on). The term good and substantial covers those at a higher risk than the general public right? Doesn't this place me at a greater risk than most? Could this be articulated into a Maryland carry permit for self defense. Boss will not sign off, no threats with enough proof to bother with police report. Any input before I try on my own for a permit? Thanks.

Magnumst

Ultimate Member
    Mar 26, 2013
    If your boss/ club owner wont sign off on it then, no GS. Even if the owner would sign off on it you would have restrictions of only why working at club X. Police reports or witness statements of threats probably would not be enough on its own IMO.

pitbull

Jan 23, 2013
    Looking to carry more so outside the club than inside. Heavy police presence at the club generally is good enough while working, plus the difficulty of keeping 100% concealed in event of physical altercation. I don't want 50 strippers knowing where I keep it. The problem is more running into pissed off ex-customer who wants revenge for being embarrassed in front of his friends an aforementioned strippers. This happens more than most would think. Old coworker had this happen at toys r us in front of his kids.

pitbull

Jan 23, 2013
    First thing you need to understand is Maryland doesn't give a shit about your personal safety.