• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JohnCard

Jan 15, 2013
    I'm an MD resident trying to get an AR before Annapolis changes the law. My research so far indicates that the Colt AR-15 H-BAR Sporter is not a regulated weapon. I'd appreciate the community's help in answering some other questions:

1. I know that FFLs in other states (e.g. Virginia) must comply with MD law or ship to an MD FFL when selling a MD regulated weapon. What about non-regulated weapons - would a VA store sell me a non-regulated shotgun for cash, on the spot? What about a Sporter?

2. Putting aside the legal issues (I assume that placing a non-HBAR barrel on an HBAR Sporter makes it a regulated weapon), are there any technical problems with replacing the HBAR barrel with a lighter barrel down the road?

3. I'm seeing conflicting opinions about whether any non-Colt rifles fall under the statutory exception. I've read reports of some FFLs treating non-Colt HBARs as regulated, others as not. I assume that for private sellers as well, it depends on if they (and the buyer) want to take the risk. Is that accurate?

4. OK, so HBAR might be marked on barrels and the receiver. To be a non-regulated weapon, the receiver must be [a Colt and] marked HBAR and the barrel must BE an HBAR, though it need not be marked that way (However, some FFLs will require the barrel to be marked HBAR)?

5. What is the difference between a Colt Sporter and other AR-15s? Is it just the HBAR? Are there physical and or mechanical differences between an HBAR/Sporter receiver and other receivers?

Thanks

highwayheat

highwayheat
    Jun 13, 2012
    Ceciltucky