Go Back   Maryland Shooters > Topics of Interest > Gunsmithing
Don't Have An Account? Register Here

Join MD Shooters

Old May 22nd, 2019, 09:41 PM #1
Oddball caliber fan

Oddball caliber fan

Weird idea

I have a Colt Combat Commander in 9mm. It needs work, the five lb 80 Series trigger needs to go. I figure the route I want to take is have it converted to a 10mm and get a trigger job to get it to under three pounds. It would then be my dream carry gun. Is this feasible?

Jim
jimbobborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2019, 09:51 PM #2

The following is just my opinion based on 50 years of handling firearms. I am not an expert but am a veteran with experience in some very bad situations.

With a trigger pull that light on a 1911, you would have to use lighter springs which may present a problem in a carry gun. Light primer strikes are not something you want in a life threatening situation!

Light triggers are for precision shooting, not everyday carry or SHTF situations.
GuitarmanNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2019, 10:35 PM #3

A light trigger pull for a .22 target gun yes, but not a carry gun. To me, 5 lbs. sounds about right.
Rangeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2019, 11:08 PM #4

Class-7 FFL, MRFD

Class-7 FFL, MRFD

I’ll throw my 2 cents in and agree with the others. Handgun manufacturers have spent tons of money and have really good lawyers to determine that a 5.5 lb trigger pull should keep you from having an unintentional discharge in such a stressful situation and keep you out of hot water in the event you have to use it to defend yourself. A lighter trigger pulls means “you set your gun up to kill the bad guy faster”.