• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Moorvogi

Firearm Advocate
    Dec 28, 2014
    I'm still learning how to read OCW results. For extra practice (and snickers) i tried a 55gr bullet as well as a 75gr.

I screwed up the charge marks on the paper with a pen but i was meticulous about the charge while loading. I relabeled them with good ol PAINT.

55gr

and 75gr

Moorvogi

Firearm Advocate
    Dec 28, 2014
    Looking at the 75gr (ignoring the pen marks and looking at the typed charge values...) it appears that 20.5 is my best OCW and scatter is 22.5.

The 55gr, i'm going to say is.. looking like 22.5gr though i can't identify/verify it against an obvious scatter node.

Any ideas/feedback from fellow OCW reloaders?

iH8DemLibz

When All Else Fails.
    Apr 1, 2013
    Libtardistan
    I've always been amazed at what a difference a grain or two can make regarding accuracy.

A one grain increase in my .243 Winchester reloads doubles the size of the group.

Looking at your group, I'd retest for 20.5 grains and 22 grains. Then settle on the better of the two. Maybe increase your testing to seven or eight rounds each. To account for flyers.

Keep your barrel as cool as possible to best replicate a cold barrel shot.

IMG_8342.jpg

IMG_8344.jpg

Moorvogi

Firearm Advocate
    Dec 28, 2014
    the load testing for my 300 win mag was "easy" to spot. I also did 0.3 gr instead of 0.5gr I also took A LOT more time doing the testing. I did today's test in one hour, the 300 win mag took me 5 hours to complete. for the same number of rounds.

Thanks for the feedback. I assume you're only looking at group sizes not OCW groups because it seems you picked the tightest groups instead of the most consistent pattern of grouping even if they aren't as tight.

Moorvogi

Firearm Advocate
    Dec 28, 2014