• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Dan_G

Feb 20, 2013
    Frederick ,MD
    I am going to be applying for my C&R license soon and have a question. I am a NJ resident but spend most of my time in PA and keep my guns in PA. Does anybody know if I am allowed to put down my PA address under "applicant's address" and my NJ address under "mailing address" ?
    Thanks

Dan_G

Feb 20, 2013
    Frederick ,MD
    I am a college student which is the reason I am not in NJ much. If I dont get an answer here I will call the ATF to see if what I want to do is legal.

monsternav

May 20, 2005
    St Marys/Kuwait
    It does sound like a reasonable question. Especially with the student angle. I would go ahead and ask them.

My personal opinion though, they are going to say "wherever your legal residence is".

teratos

My hair is amazing
    MDS Supporter
    Patriot Picket
    Jan 22, 2009
    Bel Air
    Clearly I'm missing something. Sounds like a reasonable question?

It is a reasonable question, but could also be construed as asking how to circumvent the laws. OP has the right idea when he says he will call ATF.

Dan_G

Feb 20, 2013
    Frederick ,MD
    Then there is this from the atf
    "ATF Rul. 80-21
    [Status of ruling: Active]
    The Bureau has been asked to determine the State of residence of out-of-State college students
    for purposes of the Gun Control Act of 1968. “State of residence” is defined by regulation in 27
    C.F.R. 178.11 as the State in which an individual regularly resides or maintains a home. The
    regulation also provides an example of an individual who maintains a home in State X and a
    home in State Y. The individual regularly resides in State X except for the summer months and